Getting Started

I’ve always loved to travel. I have traveled almost every six months since I was in school, and although that sounds glamorous, it wasn’t in the truest sense of the word! It was always economy and almost always to the same place, but I understand how in many ways I was privileged to be able to travel that often. My parents loved to travel too, although demanding jobs and demanding kids made it almost impossible. Still, they transferred their love for traveling to us children and we’ve never looked back.

It wasn’t until very recently that I tried the whole budget, semi-unplanned kind of traveling that you read so much about. I’d like to say I backpacked , but if you had seen the monster I carried on my back, you’d find it hard to call it a backpack! My previous trips had always been planned from start to finish and I had even been on group package trips (which many turn their nose up at , but I totally get!). Fueled by a sudden life-change, I decided, on a particularly terrible bus ride home from work, to book a bunk in the closest backpacking hostel I could find outside my city. I quickly booked my travel and then just sat, taking deep breaths, wondering what I had gotten myself into!

My first trip was very short , but one of the most empowering experiences of my life. I learned so much about myself and the depths of my strength. I pushed myself to do things I could never have imagined myself doing, and I was amazed when I did them with ease. It was like meeting a person for the first time that I totally digged- and that person was me!

As I write this post, it has only been about 6 months since that first trip , but my life has changed SO drastically. So much is different, and I value what has stayed the same. If I ever publish this blog, I hope it inspires someone to travel.To take the first step. Just outside your city. Just outside your state, just to the neighbouring country. Your life will never be the same. So lets get started!

Leave a Reply

